Home Guides Topics About Compare

Must SA Electricians Check Subcontractor Licences? 2026 Penalties Up to $550,000

·8 min read

Yes—South Australian electricians should check the CBS Licensing Public Register before engaging a subcontractor to undertake licensed electrical work. Since 15 January 2026, Consumer and Business Services (CBS) has listed hiring unlicensed subcontractors to undertake licensed work as a new offence. For repeat offences, CBS says increases can be up to $150,000 for individuals and $550,000 for companies; the Magistrates Court can impose penalties of up to $550,000 for building and construction offences involving trades including electricians (figures checked 1 October 2026).

What changed for SA electricians on 15 January 2026?

The new laws strengthened consumer protections, created additional offences, expanded enforcement options and increased penalties. CBS lists the following new offences:

The changes affect the Plumbers, Gas Fitters and Electricians Act 1995, among other laws governing the building and construction industry.

These are offence categories, not automatic penalties. The maximum amounts depend on the offence, circumstances and enforcement pathway.

Is the subcontractor offence a $5,000 expiation fee?

The $5,000 figure should not automatically be treated as the expiation fee for hiring an unlicensed subcontractor. CBS specifically identifies that amount for other key breaches:

ConductCBS statement
Working unlicensed or outside licence conditions$5,000 expiation fee
Advertising work the person is not licensed to perform$5,000 expiation fee
Repeat offencesIncreases of up to $150,000 for individuals and $550,000 for companies
Magistrates Court proceedingsPenalties of up to $550,000 for relevant building and construction offences

The CBS campaign page lists hiring unlicensed subcontractors as a new offence but does not state a separate expiation amount specifically for that offence. Its Table of Amended Penalties covers increased expiations and new offences, so check the current regulator material before relying on a particular amount.

What should be checked before a subcontractor starts?

Use this practical checklist:

How can the new offences be enforced?

CBS says increased compliance activity and enforcement can be expected, including expiation notices where breaches are identified. In June 2026, it announced a dedicated Building Industry Response Team targeting unlicensed building work and other improper conduct.

Enforcement issueWhat CBS says
Faster enforcementSome offences may be handled through an infringement notice.
Standard prosecution periodAuthorities have up to 2 years to prosecute offences.
Extended prosecution periodCertain offences may be prosecuted for up to 5 years with Ministerial approval.
Court penaltiesThe Magistrates Court can impose penalties of up to $550,000 for offences under the relevant building and construction laws.

Do licence checks and insurance cover the same thing?

No. Checking a subcontractor’s licence addresses licensing compliance; it does not establish that a policy covers the work, contract or subcontractor. Review the regulator’s current material and the relevant policy’s PDS for any separate obligations.

This is general information, not financial or legal advice.

FAQ

Does every SA electrician need to check a subcontractor’s licence?

CBS says anyone hiring a subcontractor should make sure the subcontractor is licensed through the CBS Licensing Public Register. That includes an electrician engaging a subcontractor to perform licensed electrical work.

How often should the register be checked?

The CBS campaign does not state a rechecking interval. Use the register as part of the subcontractor hiring process and contact CBS if the timing or status of a licence is unclear.

Is the penalty for hiring an unlicensed subcontractor always $5,000?

The campaign does not state a separate $5,000 expiation amount for that new offence. It identifies $5,000 for working unlicensed or outside licence conditions and for advertising unlicensed work. Check the current Table of Amended Penalties before relying on a figure.

Can a company penalty reach $550,000?

Yes, as a maximum. CBS says repeat-offence increases can be up to $550,000 for companies, while the Magistrates Court can also impose penalties of up to $550,000 for relevant building and construction offences. “Up to” does not mean the maximum applies automatically.

Sources

Quote