Yes—but WA lists this as one competency-evidence route, not the only route. According to the Apply for Electrical contractor’s licence guidance from the Department of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety, updated 23 September 2026, a management representative may provide both EA103B — General Legislative Requirements and EA102 — Establishing a Contracting Business, issued by an approved RTO within the last five years, as competency evidence.
Figures checked 1 October 2026.
What must the management representative provide?
The identity information expressly listed for the management representative is:
- The management representative’s details.
- Proof of ID ready to upload.
The Department also asks applicants to have their documents ready before applying. The cited checklist entry does not name a particular type of ID document, so check the live regulator page before selecting and uploading identification.
For competency, the training route centres on both EA103B and EA102. The five-year period in the regulator’s wording applies to when the approved RTO issued the evidence.
Is five-year-old competency evidence the only route?
No. The WA Government presents alternative ways to evidence management representative competency.
| Evidence route | What the WA checklist accepts | Applicable period |
|---|---|---|
| Approved RTO training | EA103B — General Legislative Requirements and EA102 — Establishing a Contracting Business | Issued within the last five years |
| Previous WA appointment | Details of a current or previous Management Representative appointment on an Electrical Contractor’s Licence in WA | Current, or previous within the past five years |
| Registration outside WA | Evidence of current registration as an electrical contractor in another Australian state or territory or New Zealand | Current registration |
The page joins these options with “OR”. The RTO training evidence is therefore relevant when the applicant is relying on EA103B and EA102; it is not the only evidence category listed for the management representative.
How is the management representative different from the electrical contractor nominee?
The regulator lists the two roles separately and pairs them with different details and competency options.
| Role | Identity and licence details listed | Competency evidence listed |
|---|---|---|
| Management representative | Details and ID, with proof of ID ready to upload | EA103B and EA102 issued by an approved RTO within the last five years; qualifying WA Electrical Contractor’s Licence appointment; or current electrical contractor registration in another Australian state or territory or New Zealand |
| Electrical contractor nominee | Details and ID, proof of ID, and the nominee’s current Electrical Workers licence number | WAE200 issued by an approved RTO within the last two years; qualifying nominee appointment in WA within the past two years; or evidence of being a designated Inspector within the past two years |
The management representative’s EA training route has a five-year issuance period, while the nominee’s WAE200 route has a two-year issuance period. The page does not state that the roles’ evidence lists are interchangeable, so each role’s identity documents and competency evidence should be kept under the correct heading.
What should be ready before applying?
Have the following available:
- Management representative details and proof of ID.
- Competency evidence supporting one of the management representative routes listed above.
- Nominee details and proof of ID.
- The nominee’s current Electrical Workers licence number and the relevant nominee competency evidence.
- The correct application form: R013A for an individual, R013B for a partnership or R013C for a company.
This is general information, not financial or legal advice. Check the regulator’s live application page before submitting, and check your policy’s PDS separately for any insurance requirements.
Sources
- Apply for Electrical contractor’s licence — WA Government, Department of Local Government, Industry Regulation and Safety, updated 23 September 2026.
FAQ
Must both EA103B and EA102 be included?
Yes. The approved-RTO route lists EA103B — General Legislative Requirements and EA102 — Establishing a Contracting Business together, with the evidence issued within the last five years.
Can a previous WA management representative appointment be used instead?
Yes. The alternative route covers details of a current or previous Management Representative appointment on an Electrical Contractor’s Licence in WA, where the previous appointment occurred within the past five years.
Does current registration outside WA provide another route?
Yes. The WA checklist accepts evidence of current registration as an electrical contractor in another Australian state or territory or in New Zealand.
Can the nominee’s evidence be used for the management representative?
The regulator lists the management representative and nominee requirements separately, and it does not state that one role’s evidence can replace the other. The relevant checklist should be followed for each role.
What ID must the management representative provide?
The checklist requires the management representative’s details and ID, with proof of ID ready to upload. It does not specify the accepted ID document type in the cited entry, so confirm the current requirements on the regulator’s application page.
Partner links. Using them costs you nothing extra and may earn us a commission.